James Williams

From Festipedia, hosted by the FR Heritage Group
Jump to navigation Jump to search
James Williams c1913

Born 1859 (poss 1856) in Bangor. Joined FR before 1901 as a Joiner and Carriage Builder.

In 1881 he appears to still be living in Bangor and working as a joiner in the building trade. In 1901 he was living at 19, Dora Street, Portmadoc, working as a Railway Joiner, so it is assumed that is for the FR. In 1911 his address was South Snowdon Wharf, apparently the only house there, describing himself as a Railway Joiner. He had married Jane in 1884 and as she came from Harlech, he may have left Bangor soon after 1881. They had three children, all born in Portmadoc, the first in 1896 so he may have worked for the FR before that.

He was last recorded as working for the FR in April 1927

Census Entry for 1881[edit]

An entry has been found for this person at Bangor
where the year of birth is recorded as: 1856-59 in Bangor
The occupation given is: Joiner - Building Trade


Census Entry for 1901[edit]

An entry has been found for this person at 19, Dora Street, Portmadoc
The occupation given is: Railway Joiner
It is believed, married to Jane (1884) of Harlech


Census Entry for 1911[edit]

An entry has been found for this person at South Snowdon Wharf
The occupation given is: Railway Joiner


James Williams is confirmed as the person in the photo known as Boyd26H. (click here to see) This photo is labelled "A Group taken in the Works Yard before the First War". It is believed to be around 1913. It is not all staff from the yard at that time. There was a list attached to the original which declares who the people are. This person is believed to be in the first row from the back and the fourth person from the left handside.