|Stations | Locations | Bridges | Tunnels | Map|
Salem was an unadvertised halt in North Wales Narrow Gauge days and a publicly advertised halt on the WHR from October 1922 until the end of passenger service in 1936.
Salem as a place is mentioned in Boyd (albeit with an erroneous location for the halt on the accompanying plans) and other sources. Salem (short a, so pronounced Sallem) is a Biblical name given to the chapel across the river, now Lewis Esposito's antique furniture restoration workshop. The railway climbs up this picturesque gap with the river swirling in flood or lying in calm below the train. Had Mr Spooner's Parliamentary line been taken in 1875, we would have had a far better line and a faster climb, but to save every last penny in those days, the railway wiggles back and forth across every fold in the landscape, making heavy weather of the ascent, even though the gauge has been widened on this stretch.
There was an unadvertised halt in North Wales Narrow Gauge days - for miners at Glanrafon quarry (a ticket is illustrated in Tickets of the NWNGR by Trefor David) - and a publicly advertised facility from October 1922 until the very end of passenger service in 1936.